
Rolling Bones
FAQ and Errata 
(englisch Rules)

> 1) If you have used your tombstone as a place holder , can you exchange it for a 
wrong bone and then reroll the tombstone?
A tombstone never can be used as a place holder. The tombstone and the hat are no 
bones. At the place of a bone only bones can be. It musn't be the right bone, but it have to 
be a bone.
Also you never can exchange bones ones you have place it at the skeletton. A wrong bone 
will be a wrong bone untill the scorring or the end.

> 2) Can a tombstone that has been used as a place holder be used to bury your 
skeleton providing you exchange it for the wrong bone?
See above - a tombstone can't be a place holder.
A tombstone can only use at one way: as tombstone.
Imediately you say you want use the tombstone, the game ends.
So every time you don't burry the skeletton the tombstone are used as part of the rerolling 
dice.

> 3) Is the torso the starting point do you have to specifically start with the rib cage 
(notice it has a “0” on it) to start the game?
No, you can every bone use as starting point.
The rib cage ist only the best starting point and you should use it, if you have it, because, 
you have four options to place bones to it.
Another good starting point is the pelvic bone with three options for placing bones (but you 
only should use it if you have no rib cage).
But you also can start with a "bone hand", if you like.

> 4) It seems hard to score. We played three rounds and only 2 out of the 4 played 
scored. One had 30 and one had 14. Have you found that also?
Oh, it's not hard to score. It's hard to making high scores. The game has a can't-stop-
mechanism.
The only way to get 50 points is the first roll, if all 18 dice show the right side.
The best scoring I have seen has been 40 points, after the second roll.
But usally you should stop after getting 15 points or more. A scorring with more then 20 
points is very fine.
You can get this points with the half numbers of dice and so the people think, they have 
good chance to make more points.
But this is only a illusion.
The player have to realize: with every die they are using for the middle of the skeletton the 
chance to getting a tombstone decreases.
Thats the reason, why you can bring back the die with the hat in the game.
Playing the game, the player have to learn to stop at the right point.

For example typical scorrings, for the game (you should stop, if you have something like this):
- two complete arms, the complete bones for the middle (skull, rib cage, backbone, pelvic bone) = 
5 + 5 + 5 = 15 points
- one complete arms, two bones of the other arm, rib cage, skull with hat = (5 + 2 + 2) x 2 = 18 
points
- two complete arms, rib cage, skull with hat = (5 + 5 + 2) = 24 points
- one complete arm, the complete bones for the middle (skull, rib cage, backbone, pelvic bone), 



one complete leg, one other arm bone, two other leg bones = 5 + 5 + 5 + 2 + 2 = 19 points (much 
more bones than the example before, but less points!)

Also many beginners (people who play the game only a few times) use all bones of the roll 
for the skeletton wich are possible. But they should only do this, if they want score and 
making no rerolls.
If the want make a reroll, they should leave so many dice of middle for the reroll as 
possible.
Don't forget you have only to put one new die to the skeletton after a roll, you can use 
more, but you don't need it.

Also never choose a die of the middle to pay for a reroll.
So you cann choose the playing time. How many points the player have to collect.
So maybe we should change the end of the game:
The recommendend game ends:
For beginners: 45 points
For advance: 75 points
For experts: 100 points
If the goal for collecting points is no so high, it will mor atractive for beginners to collect 
less points.

> 5) Can you have a 4th post op roll if you have one dice left?
Yes, you can.
It's unfortunately lost in the translation. The rule is: the costs for the reroall increase with 
every reroll by one die:
So the first reroll cost 1 die.
The second cost 2 dice (total = 1 + 2 = 3)
The third cost 3 dice (total = 3 + 3 = 6)
The fourth cost 4 dice (total = 6 + 4 = 10)
So the turn ends latest after the fourth reroll: paying 10 dice for reroll and using at least 
five dice for the skeleton every roll.
So leaving a maximum of 3 dice, which are not enough for paying for a fiveth reroll.


